Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Photography Begins Again

    October 29, 2021 in England ⋅ 🌬 13 °C

    The journey up to Goathland went extremely well with none of the traffic queues and hold-ups I had experienced when travelling to Malham earlier in the week. I arrived exactly as planned a little after 6pm and the evening was spent catching up with my friend Elizabeth, with whom I was staying, and sorting a timetable of events for the weekend.

    Today, then, was an easy morning with me fixing a couple of computer issues then an easy two mile walk just outside Goathland looking to capture a photograph to enter into the photography club competition this month. The theme is ‘Nature’s Colours’ so all I had to do was walk and take photos of the autumn colours around us. I submitted the photo this evening, which is the main photo for this footprint.

    Elizabeth dropped me off in Whitby after lunch and I then spent a couple of hours strolling through the town with my camera taking photos of some of the Goths that had already arrived for the festival. As I had found when I photographed Steampunks a few weeks ago, they were so friendly and we’re more than willing to pose for photos. Here’s five I took which are from the camera as I didn’t take any phone photos today. I really enjoyed the afternoon and chatting with the various people in themed costumes. I was also amazed to discover a couple from Bradmore in Wolverhampton who knew Seisdon, where I live, and who knew a couple of people I knew. It is a small world isn’t it.

    Quite a few mentioned that tomorrow there would be far more people in costume so I shall be visiting Whitby again, hoping the weather won’t let us all down. It doesn’t look too good for the morning but things are forecast to improve as the day progresses.
    Read more