Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Arrival at Ullapool

    July 18, 2022 in Scotland ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    ... well, almost Ullapool.

    It hadn't been an awfully long drive but even so, as I neared the town I decided I'd try and get onto a camp site so I could freshen up with a shower. I therefore travelled north of Ullapool to a campsite which I hoped would have room and indeed it did with lovely hot showers and a nightly rate of £13 if you don't want an electricity connection, which I don't because my solar panel keeps the van's leisure battery charged. It was well charged too, after all that sunshine today.

    The site is right on the shoreline as you can see in photo 3 and even the view from my side door isn't all that bad. Photo 4 is a panorama taken at the edge of the site, opposite my van and I certainly can't complain about that view. The first and last photos are of the sunset which wasn't spectacular by any means and it certainly wasn't that gory yellow either. Phones never seem to get skies right and here the colours are way over the top even after I've calmed them down.

    I've pre-booked to stay again on Monday evening after arriving back from Lewis so hopefully my stay then will be as pleasant as today. Tomorrow however, looks like it might be a calm crossing given how few waves there are on that sea tonight.
    Read more