Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Eoropie Beach - white sand heaven

    July 21, 2022 in Scotland ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    On my way to the lighthouse and not far from it, I spotted some reasonably large sand dunes off to the left and what caught my eye was the bright white sand. I continued to the Butt then made sure that on my return I would visit to take a closer look. It was worth it too, because the white sand beach I found today was whiter and brighter than those I visited yesterday. This footprint, then, is simply of one white sand beach, nothing more and nothing less.

    The first photo is my first view of the beach at the end of the path from the small parking area, then as you walk onto the beach proper it is amazing. Once again, it was virtually empty, the sand so beautifully white and edged by turquoise sea more reminiscent of the Caribbean than an island off the coast of Scotland. To be honest, I'm not sure Caribbean beaches are so empty of people.

    My visit here was brief because I'd spent way longer at the lighthouse cliffs than I intended and I had to be in Stornoway for an important appointment for around 5.30pm … and I was already going to be late.

    It's weird though, because I panicked for a moment thinking I'd messed up big time as I needed to return to the camp site to get changed - there was no way there was time for that so I'd be terribly late. This simply wasn't true of course given that my entire existence was parked up not far away, so all that was needed was for me to change my attire in the van to be ready for the evening out.

    In no time I was driving to Stornoway to realise one of the reasons for being here.
    Read more