Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Dumbeg Viewpoint

    July 28, 2022 in Scotland ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    My next stop was at Dumbeg which is just a small village with a shop, a hotel and a viewpoint. I parked at the viewpoint so I could push the boat out and look at the view. I didn't expect to be here as long as I stayed, which was well over an hour and a half I think.

    I parked up and admired the view and read the plaque, as you can as I've included it here so I hope you are able to read it, but if you can't at least you can tell I'm not making all this up and it's not all that interesting anyway - how silly. Anyway, I decided the view was worth a panorama, a bit like photo 2 but better, and so I went to get my camera and tripod to do the deed.

    When I returned to my chosen spot there was an Irish girl standing there and this is why I spent so much time there, plus I also went to the café and candle shop for a coffee and candle ... yes. I purchased a candle and I'm still working out why - probably because this late in the day they had no cake.

    Before taking my panorama I spent ages talking to the unnamed Irish girl and her Dad, with whom she was travelling in a small motorhome. That was so lovely just chatting about allsorts and everything - about her university studies and the holiday with her Dad, who joined us and offered me Turkish coffee, though I respectfully declined. We compared each other's vehicles and really enjoyed our chance meeting and it's strange; that you meet people while you are travelling that you will most likely never meet again. But these meetings are highlights actually.
    Read more