Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Completing a Circle

    August 1, 2022 in Scotland ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    As I mentioned yesterday, today would be a much longer drive so when I looked outside first thing I was pleased the weather looked good with lovey blue sky - photo 2.

    There aren't many photos today because it really is a just a driving day plus, as I travelled further south, the views were simply not as inspiring. Don't get me wrong, there were some stunning views at times but I really needed to get the miles done to get to Ullswater, then I discovered later in the day that it was actually important I kept to the plan due to an unexpected stop that needed to be made tomorrow. So why was this?

    I had joined the M74 that runs down through Glasgow on the way to the M6 and was cruising at around 60mph when all of a sudden there was the sound of rushing wind. My immediate thought was that the pop-top roof had come away from its fixings and when I stopped at the next junction to check, having reduced speed in the meantime, I discovered I was correct. Not only had it popped, but I could not get the latches to sit correctly or even remain tightly locked.

    At first I was concerned for the rest of the journey, but I managed to bodge things so the latches were safely fixed but there was still a problem with them that needed rather more than the roll of bin bags I used to make sure they wouldn't snap open again. I won't bore you with the details, but that roll of bin bags worked a treat so the plan, therefore, was to continue to Ullswater and deal with this tomorrow when I would be passing Stoke-on-Trent, which is where my van was converted into a campervan. With luck I will be able to call in for a quick repair.

    The further I travelled south the more grey the skies became and then came the occasional shower, then full on torrential rain at times. There was even fog at times, though more likely it was low cloud so"Welcome to England", I thought and was surprised because whenever I've gone to Scotland before and then returned, I've left the rain behind me and have been welcomed to my home country with sunshine. But, as I'm sure you know, variety is the spice of life.
    Read more