Satellite
Show on map
  • Luton Airport

    June 19, 2023 in England ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    Quite some years ago there was a song by Lorraine Chase called 'Luton Airport' and having just checked the lyrics, I'm surprised it got as high as 22 in the charts ... bet you can't stop yourself finding them now I've said that! 😉

    So here I am at the aforementioned airport, the evening before I properly begin this adventure, sitting in the bar of the Holiday Inn Express waiting for food to arrive. I know I've flown from here before, probably about when that song was in the charts, but I have no memory of it so it's new to me all over again.

    It's an early start tomorrow with the flight leaving at 0600 to Iceland. On Wednesday at 0500 I shall be meeting up with a group to travel to Western Greenland for a week then, upon returning to Iceland, I shall once again be visiting the stunning south east coast. For two weeks then, the ice will never be far away. I'm hoping that's true for good weather too.

    So far, my adventures into the Arctic Circle have always been in winter, a beautiful time to go, but now it is summertime when the sun never sets at this time of year. How different it will be.

    I will post a Penguin footprint as often as I can, though it may well be harder to do when I'm in Greenland with other photographers, so please be patient. As always, the photos I post will be taken on my phone with maybe an occasional photo from the 'big' camera if I have something special to show.

    I would love you to travel with me along the way because I really enjoy reading your comments and answering your questions. Hopefully you will enjoy the journey too.

    The photo in this footprint is the view from my room just after I arrived. I can be pretty confident it definitely gets better than this. 😄
    Read more