Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Seljalandsfoss and Skogafoss

    June 28, 2023 in Iceland ⋅ 🌬 12 °C

    If you have followed the two previous Iceland trips with me then you will know of these two waterfalls. They are not too far away from each other and you can visit them on the way to Vik, but what would they be like to visit in the summer? I was dreading what I would find.

    When I visited last, with my friend Tony, Seljalandsfoss was overrun, overwhelmed even, with tourists, or Penguins as we say in the trade. 😉 When I arrived, and let's be clear it's the height of summer, I was staggered that there was parking space to spare and the location didn't feel crowded at all.

    The other noticeable feature was a new car park and the need to pay using the Parka app so maybe this is why it wasn't so crowded. For Iceland however, I didn't feel the charge was unreasonable.

    It was quite windy which meant those walking behind the waterfall were getting extremely wet, so as I'd done that before I chose to stay dry. Photo 4 shows the view along the cliffs and this time I wanted to walk down there and see the other waterfalls, especially the last one, which is inside a cave. This was very busy, because the entrance is relatively small and meant I spent ages waiting for a moment to capture a photo. I think I managed one in the end (no I didn’t), but there were too many people at this particular spot. I should regally have come here at midnight.

    Having believed I had got my photo, I walked back to the car park and grabbed a coffee and sandwich whilst watching the wind blow the waterfall upwards. You can see this in the video.

    I spent too long here really, but eventually I moved on and visited Skogafoss and again, this wasn't overly busy. I wasn't here long though because I wanted to get to Vik, not that things would go to plan though.

    Conclusion: I think both waterfalls look nicer in winter. Just my opinion you understand. 😂
    Read more