Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Goodbye Gray Skies

    November 29, 2016 in Canada ⋅ ☁️ 5 °C

    The weather report last night said Vancouver has had only five dry days in October and November so far this year. Although it wasn't constantly raining, the skies were almost always cloud filled and sun sightings were special occasions. Of course, I'll take the mild temperatures and lack of snow over the climate back east any day, but I feel my vitamin D levels need replenishing.

    And what better way to rebuild my D supply than three months in Thailand? So, at 12:50 PM today, Brenda and I fly out of YVR with stops in Beijing and Bangkok en route to our home away from home, Chiang Mai. Two years ago we spent six months in and around Chiang Mai and have longed to repeat the experience ever since.Given the health issues I faced earlier this year, we elected to limit this journey to only three months, but that will be long enough to clear the skies above Vancouver and will have us returning as the first flowers burst up through the ground.

    I love being retired!
    Read more