Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 78

    Last Tango In Buenos Aires

    January 2, 2023 in Argentina ⋅ 🌙 24 °C

    We topped off my birthday celebration with dinner and a tango show at Piazzolla Tango. Named after Astor Piazzolla, the father of Nuevo Tango, the show is held in a subterranian theater that opened in 1915. The dancers were supported by a six piece orchestra consisting of piano, upright bass, two violins and two bandoneons (AKA a squeezebox).

    Before dinner, we were treated to a group tango lesson to get us in the mood for the main event. I was sad to discover that both of my feet are still of the left variety.

    Reviews of the event mentioned the food being mediocre but the dancing very good. Dinner was served well before the show started and Brenda and I were both very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. We joked that if the critics considered that meal mediocre, the dance must be outstanding. And it was!

    The grace, speed, accuracy and passion of the movements was enough to have Brenda declare after one exceptionally "spicy" arrangement, "I think I need a cigarette". I asked for ten minutes to recover.

    The photos I've posted are from the internet but were all taken at the venue we visited.

    This was one tourist trap I would gladly re-visit next time we're in town.
    Read more