Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    Lion-sur-Mer

    September 20, 2022 in France ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    To solve the problem of my tent pole, I look for a nice campsite.

    The drama continues there.
    To recap:
    1. I had lost my bright red tent pole in the forest.
    2. the replacement I had ordered was incomplete, one of the needed parts was missing but time was too short for another replacement.

    So now I have the idea to create a handicraft solution. First I have to saw around a piece of metal, then shorten hollow poles and thread a rubber cord through to get a bendable tent pole.
    The sawing works wonderfully and I start threading. And I notice that one of the segments is not hollow. Glue has filled the hollow space through which the cord has to pass. This is something that should be noticed in the quality assurance of the production. With the limited means I have, I hammer a hole through the glue. Afterwards, the hole is still much too thin to thread the string through, so I glue the string to a wire with super glue and thread it through the narrow opening.
    The whole thing takes several more hours, but despite all the trouble it easily saves me 100 euros.

    ***

    I also visit the nearby bunker museum and try to poduce crepes. They are damn difficult to make and the crumbs I produce that evening cannot yet be called crepes. But by now I know what the problem could be. ☺️
    Read more