Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 179

    Natural Park Bahía de Cádiz

    February 9, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌬 16 °C

    Today I get to learn an important lesson from Roberto about cosiness.
    When writing this text, I have to smile at myself because my behaviour sounds compulsive in contrast to his 😅.

    The following situation:
    We have an appointment in the morning to pick up a rental car.
    We have to travel 30 minutes by bus to the meeting point. Now it's 45 minutes to the meeting.

    Roberto leaves the hostel, looks around briefly and walks ... to the left.
    I ask him if he knows where the bus leaves.
    "No, but this is the way to the water, I'm sure it's the right way".
    (I check this for myself. I want to avoid unpleasant surprises... excitingly, he is right and we are on the right track. )

    Arriving at the bus stop, I ask which bus we are going to get on.
    "I don't know, but they are all going in our direction somehow! 🤷‍♂️
    (You have to know that Cádiz lies on a narrow strip of land that is about 6 km long but only about 1 km wide. So the chances are actually quite good that we are going in the right direction.)

    We sit on the bus for about 15 minutes and I get a bit nervous and ask him to look up where exactly we have to get off, as he makes no effort whatsoever to find out. Secretly, I'm almost 100% sure that he has exactly the same information as last night: the key handover is at some hospital. 😄
    With only a few minutes delay we arrive where we are supposed to be and I've been wondering ever since how the journey would have gone for us if I hadn't kept intervening. 😄

    Finally, the owner of the car shows up and tells us that a workshop light has just flamed up in the car and that we should therefore rather take another means of transport.
    We take a bus to our destination and try to find chameleons there.
    Unfortunately we don't find them (I can't blame them, the "nature park" is really not nice...). ).
    In this case, the journey is the destination and we had a lot of fun.
    Read more