Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 181

    Gibraltar

    February 11, 2023 in Gibraltar ⋅ 🌬 14 °C

    Before my visit to Monkey Rock, I was warned about the treacherous creatures that inhabit this mountain. 🐒🐒🐒
    I should keep my pockets locked, not take out any jewellery or electronic devices as soon as they are in sight and never ever look them directly in the eye, as this provokes them. 👀

    In preparation for the trip, I practised with Roberto walking back to back through the park with our eyes down so that we could protect each other's backpacks.

    Then we meet the wild gang of monkeys. All precautions turn out to be unnecessary. The monkeys are interested in us, but show no interest in our belongings.
    They sweetly play with each other, slide down the railings or chase each other around the yard.

    Finally, we descend into St Michaels Cave, which seems huge and whose partly mushroom-like surfaces are brightly illuminated by different coloured lights.
    Read more