Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 305

    Ptuj

    June 15, 2023 in Slovenia

    The road in front of me is closed - again!
    The Tour de Slovenia is slowly getting on my nerves.
    Yesterday it already forced me to take a few detours and also left a negative impression because of an overzealous policeman.
    He was assigned to keep the intersection clear for the approaching cyclists and did so very conscientiously - so conscientiously that he told me that all roads into town were blocked, that this intersection had to be kept clear under all circumstances and that there would be no traffic in town for an hour... yes, sure... 🤥
    Meanwhile, behind him, a caravan of cars was rolling through this very intersection, but I was not allowed to join it. After all, the intersection was closed and I should clear it immediately!
    Thank you, Mr. Chief Constable!

    Today I simply drive past the traffic guards. It goes down a hill, across a plain and I catch sight of a castle built on top of a hill, overlooking a small town.
    Welcome to Ptuj!

    A spontaneous tiredness overcomes me and I look for a café to get my caffeine balance back under control. The first coffee does the trick and is immediately followed by a second one. Coffees are pack animals, they don't feel comfortable alone. ☕️☕️

    At the top of the castle hill, I get a spectacular view of the surrounding mountains and Lake Pettau to the southeast and also of the route already covered to the west.
    I can even see the chain of hills in the distance that I passed through at midday.

    The city centre is not big, but it is chic and I explore it in a cloverleaf pattern. Soon I have seen all the corners. I snack on a pistachio cake and wash up with a coffee.

    On the way to my super camping spot in the river, another cyclist accosts me.
    Mirrored glasses. Fast bike. Looks fancy. One of the fast kind, that's clear to me right away.
    He's been on the road for a few months and has crowned his tour with a lap of the Triglav National Park. All the beautiful mountains that I skipped so that my legs wouldn't fall off, he crossed completely. He also likes to take a route where you have to carry the bike. 🫣
    A crazy guy, but very sociable.
    We get on well and the short conversation turns into dinner and later I take him to my chosen premium campsite.
    Instead of driving on, we spend the whole of the next day back in Ptuj and can't stop talking.
    Read more