Satellitt
Vis på kartet
  • Dag 428

    Zero degrees

    16. oktober 2023, Ungarn ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    In preparation for really low temperatures, I need to know what the equipment can and can't do. So today I'm heading out into the wilderness despite the forecast night-time temperature of 2 degrees.

    Unlike my family, I'm quite relaxed about these temperatures.
    I remember a hike in Saxon Switzerland with a friend that ended in a (planned) overnight stay in the countryside. At the time, I had spent the night without a tent in a similarly insulated sleeping bag.
    I tucked my head deep into the sleeping bag and only had to fidget once at night to keep warm for the second half of the night.
    The feeling in the morning of having spent the night outside in these adverse conditions is fantastic. I feel alive. It feels less fantastic, but no less alive, to slip my feet into the cold shoes. 😄

    This time I still have my tent as wind protection, various textiles to bury myself under and my secret weapon:
    Mum's home-knitted hat.

    Nothing CAN go wrong with that.
    Les mer