Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 449

    Dangerous little creatures

    November 6, 2023 in Montenegro ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    In the Balkans, you are always warned about bears and wolves. So far I haven't seen either of them, but I have seen another dangerous animal.
    The little cats from the farm where I'm staying tonight like to jump into the tarpaulin with their claws extended and are not fazed by the fact that you make them realise that they are not wanted. Talking them down doesn't help and they don't take the grabbing and throwing as an invitation to stay away from me. Maybe they even enjoy it, because after every throw they just snuggle up to me even more, stick their noses in everywhere and paw around - even in the cooking pot and food.
    In the end, the only thing that helps is a splash from the water bottle 💦 - for five minutes. Then they're back again. 😩

    I finally enter Montenegro (new stamp!!). The first few kilometres are really mountainous and full of tunnels. My legs have a lot of pedalling to do and are pretty tired. The altitude information on my planned route simply can't be right, because I'm cycling from 7.30 am until dusk that day and I'm working so hard that I can't believe I've 'only' covered 1000 metres in altitude.

    Throughout the day my fear of starvation seems to occupy my subconscious, because although I'm not really hungry, I stock up at every opportunity even though there's still food in my pockets. 😅
    Read more