Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 302

    Nagasaki

    February 26, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ☀️ 11 °C

    A few days in Nagasaki. Started out by visiting Sanno Shrine and the One-Legged Torii Gate that was miraculously left standing after the bombing. Continued along some back roads until I reached the memorial park at the hypocenter, marked by a black monument. There is also a beautiful sculpture marking the 50th anniversary. Finally I visited the Shiritsu Shiroyama Elementary School, part of which was preserved and turned into a museum.

    For lunch, I got delicious soba with and on the walk back I saw a funny sign about not feeding the street cats. Afterwards, I visited Urakami Cathedral to see the remains of the bell tower that was sheared off and the Bombed Mary. Then I went to the Nagasaki Atomic Bomb Museum, which was very different from the museum in Hiroshima (not as modern and different focus).

    The next day I saw Gunkanjima (different footprint) and later for dinner, I had really amazing tonkatsu at the Katsushika restaurant. Then I wandered around the Dutch slope area as it got dark.

    On my last day, I explore the Ryoma street area, and there were great views from the hill there. Finally, I went to the other side of the city, taking the ropeway up Mount Inasa for one of the “three major night views of Japan” (and one of the top-rated night views in the entire world). At the viewing observatory, you can also get coffee and burritos (or, alternatively, you can dine at their fancy restaurant).
    Read more