Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    No babies in the baby pool!

    June 10, 2016 in Portugal ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Here we go again, another bureaucratic, royal rule.
    We where in the baby pool with Joe, when one of the staff came over to me and asks if he is potty trained? I said no but we have him in swim diapers which are designed so babies can go in kids pools. Btw this pool is 3 inches deep so no one but babies would go in. Anyway he tells me that US hygiene law forbids babies who are not potty trained from going in the baby pool.
    I tell him that UK hygiene laws allow me to take my grandson into public pools as long as he is wearing proper baby swimmer diapers.
    But he insists, so we take Joe out, kicking and screaming.
    Now before you tell me that, rules is rules. Answer me this.
    US law forbids "kids" under 21 from drinking on board ship, fine, no problem.
    But when in UK, or European waters, they allow "kids" of 18 to drink.
    Now call me an old cynic, but isn't this just Royal Caribbean relaxing their US laws to suit themselves, when there is a buck to be made?
    Also this is the second cruise we've taken Joe O and both times been charged the full adult price of the cruise for him, which was over £1000 each time, and on the first cruise he was still breast feeding, so didn't eat anything.
    Anyway I've demanded a discount on his cruise fare, and guest services have contacted Miami requesting this.
    Oh yes the girl on guest services also said, but sir it does tell you in the small print on the website about the baby pool rules.
    But come on, be honest who ever reads the small print.
    This is just Royal, covering their arse again.
    One last moan. Joe can't even go in the tots club unless we pay $8 an hour!!
    Nice one Royal, money grabbing again.
    Other than that the cruise has been great. Lol 😁
    Read more