Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Olden

    June 11, 2013 in Norway ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    Wow! This is more like the Norway I was expecting.
    We were told by some the there was not much in Olden, the town was tiny and not many shops etc.
    Well on that point they were correct, very small and not many shops or bars etc. But my god what the town lacks in size, it more than makes up for in its placement.
    Set right on the Nordfjord one of the most beautiful fjords I've seen (not that I've seen many) and surrounded on all sides by majestic snow covered peaks. This is definitely the Norway I'd come to see.
    Everywhere you looked the scenery took your breath away, I was saying to Sheila that I could live here as I'd never get tired of the fantastic views.
    Her answer was I'd be on my own, because as beautiful as it was it was far too quiet and remote for her. Lol
    From Olden you can get to the Briksdal glacier, but I'm afraid I didn't go as firstly the shuttle bus to take you, was £35, which as with most things in Norway is very expensive, also the bus could only take you part way there, you had another hours walk to get to the glacier itself, maybe next time. Lol
    One really lovely thing to see in Olden is Geiranger Church, it's situated about a mile from where the ship docks. It's a beautiful little wooden church built in an octagonal shape, and the original church dates back to the 1300s, and from there you can get some great views of the ship and the surrounding countryside.
    Read more