Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Last sea day

    July 23, 2016, North Atlantic Ocean ⋅ 🌙 14 °C

    Well here I am up early again on the last day, and I've just said goodbye to my early morning friends.
    They are a group of cleaners all youngsters who start work at 5am and do a 12 hour shift 7 days a week with only a few hours off every fortnight.
    One of their few perks is to nip in the concierge lounge very early in the morning and take a nice latte back to their mess room.
    Now they are not "officially" supposed to get a coffee from here, and the first morning of the cruise, I'm in my spot writing my blog and having a drink, when the door opens and they all come in.
    Now they are not expecting anyone to be in the lounge, so when they see me they all panic, quickly apologise and leave, before I can say anything.
    So the next morning I'm waiting for them, and just one lad pokes his head in, to see if anyone is in the lounge.
    So I went over to him and said if he's trying to get a coffee, please feel free, as I didn't mind in the slightest.
    So they got their coffees, and left. Each morning since if I've been up early enough, I've seen them, and they are a great set of boys and girls, very respectful and always open the door quietly and wait for me to say come on in, by this I mean they don't just barge in.
    We've all been complaining about the lack of senior officers being visible, which is true.
    But I must say that the general staff, ie, cleaners, bar staff etc, have been lovely and friendly.
    Read more