Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    St Johns, Antigua

    February 26, 2011 in Antigua and Barbuda ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Early up again and watched the ship pull into Antigua still amazes me how the drive these huge ships into these tiny ports.
    The weather isn't brilliant at the minute, we've got the Caribbean Liquid Sunshine... we know it as rain...
    But it is warm and going to rise to around 80° according to the weather forecast.
    Anyway I believe the weather at home is rubbish at the moment....so that helps....LOL.
    Boy has the weather changed its 10am ish and its topping at least 80°.
    Just going to have a walk around the town, which is normally all we do at these ports, unless there's something we really want to see.
    The ship and the getting there is the best part..in my humble opinion anyway
    ..... First impressions of St Johns, which is where we are in Antigua, are good, people seem really friendly as normally is the case in the Caribbean.
    Even the taxi and minibus drivers are very polite when you refuse them.
    The reply from them is always "have a good day sir".
    Had a look around the old cricket ground which I must have seen on tv 70s or 80s, right across the road is the fire station with its two immaculate fire engines
    Then just around the corner is the prison, which was built in 1735 and is still in use and has 300 inmates.
    After about an hour or so I took Sheila back to the ship and I went exploring, looking for a local bar.
    I don't like the tourist type bars they have by the ship in any port you go to.
    They are not really authentic.
    Anyway I found what I was looking for...it was called "Vics Place" and I was the only white face.
    I had a brilliant hour or so watching cricket on tv with the locals.
    The evening consisted of a quiz (again)... a brilliant singers and dancers Broadway show. And chatting with some great company we've met.
    Read more