Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Gibraltar

    September 23, 2016 in Gibraltar ⋅ 🌙 18 °C

    I've been to Gibraltar 🇬🇮 many many times and I love the place, but this time I decided to give the old town a miss.
    On the walk along North Mole Rd, which takes you from the ship right in to the old town, I turned right at the first traffic island, that's the one with the statue commemorating the evacuation of the civilian population of the rock in WWII.
    There is nothing of any historical interest down there, but it was nice to get away from the tourist magnet of the old town.
    It is basically just a residential area, where I passed, the local Jehovah's Witness Kingdom Hall, and the local swimming pool, this as well as the indoor pool, has two outdoor pools fed directly from the sea.
    Further along the road is the very British Morrisons supermarket along with the obligatory McDonald's.
    Next came St Bernard's hospital which looks very new and modern.
    Finally I came across a lovely little park with views of the cruise ship and part of the port, quite an industrial view but nice all the same.
    On the way back to the ship I crossed over to the other side of North Mole Rd, to another residential area which overlooks the other side of the harbour and the end of the airport runway.
    It was quite exciting to see the planes takeoff, but it must be very noisy for the residents.
    So that was about it for my stroll around this part of Gibraltar, it did make a nice change from the old town, and was interesting in its own way.
    Read more