Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Khasab, Oman

    January 31, 2017 in Oman ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    I decided to get the shuttle into Khasab today and then walk back to the ship.
    It was a beautiful walk, with the impressive mountains which are the backdrop of the town, looking like how I'd imagine the moon to look. As usual I went off the beaten path, and ended up walking through some what looked like allotments, where the locals were growing vegetables etc.
    And I got the chance to try out one of my few Arabic phrases, saying "Salam Alikum" to a few people and getting big smiles and getting the response "Alikum Salama" in reply.
    I came across a small mosque and asked what looked like the caretaker if I could go in for a look, he said ok, so I went in and got a couple of photos.
    I must say that the Omani's that I met on my walk where very friendly.
    Read more