Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Málaga, Spain

    May 11, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    Last time I was here in Málaga I had a walk up towards Castel Gibralfaro, I say up towards, as I never made it to the top! For a change I listened to my body and the slight pain in my chest was saying that's far enough you old fart. Anyway while I was taking in the beautiful views I noticed a bullring down below, and today that's what I set out to find.
    It's actually called "Plaza de toros de La Malagueta" and was built in 1876, and is designated a Spanish cultural building, which I suppose is the same as a listed building back in the UK.
    Even though I'm not a blood sport type of person, it was still an interesting place to visit.
    For the princely sum of €1.80 you could go in to the arena and also visit the small museum.
    It all made for a very pleasant morning off the ship, and once again proved my point that in most cases you do not have to travel far from the ship or pay for expensive tours to find interesting things in most ports.
    Read more