Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Camino Day 20: Ledigos to Sahagún

    August 31, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    Total Distance: 17km
    Step Count: 29.7k
    Blisters to date: 2
    Tortillas to date: 18
    Injuries: shin splints

    Today we’d be hitting the half way point of the Camino and it was a short day which my leg was very grateful for, even though the shin splints had started to ease.

    I had such a good sleep and woke up so late that everyone had left so I set off on my own. I enjoyed the best animal encounters meeting Bimba and seeing so many teradillos birds flying around in the morning!

    Half way through, I stopped at this cute lil bar for yet another tortilla and saw Tommaso, a cool Italian guy who I’d gotten to know a lil bit over the previous days, and we ended up having a long chat over coffee. We rarely rush and even less so on short days!

    The walk into Sahagun was alright in comparison to most small cities, despite the long winded path. When I got there, Lukas had sorted out an albergue to stay in but the rest of our camino family had moved on, as it happens.

    In Sahagun, we got our half way certificates, went to a pilgrim’s mass and enjoyed a beautiful communal dinner with some people in the Albergue, including David as we somehow managed to meet up randomly every 3 or 4 days without even trying.

    I also got to place a pin on the map, being the first Venezuelan to stay there 💛💙❤️

    The albergue was run by very conservative
    volunteers with a very strict no mixed dorms rules (unless you get a private room, haha) which ended up backfiring for me. I ended up barely getting any sleep because the lady sharing my bunk had a crazy fit shortly after the lights went out over another lady snoring in our dorm and for the next 2 hours, no one would be able to get any rest until she finally left the room. Ugh! 🥱
    Read more