Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Camino Day 23: Mansilla to León

    September 3, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 22 °C

    Total Distance: 18.2km (by bus)
    Step Count: 15.8k
    Blisters to date: 2
    Tortillas to date: 21
    Injuries: shin splints

    I didn’t walk today 😔
    The doctor was very emphatic on taking a rest day so I caught a bus early in the morning to León. Most of the city entrances were not the nicest to walk so I figured this would be a good section to skip without much FOMO.

    I got to town so early that I managed to get some beautiful shots at the Cathedral without anyone in the square! I sat at a cafe there to enjoy my coffee with a view and shortly after I bumped into Lukas and Tommaso. Of course we’d reunite! I also met Little John (who was going through his Camino spending more by staying in private rooms to spare people from his snoring - good people still exist!).

    After dropping my things off at the Albergue, we went to a mass with singing nuns (finally!). It was beautiful 😍

    From there, Lukas, Tommaso and I went to the museum and then walked around the city centre as there was a big medieval festival taking place. There was music and food and market stalls everywhere.

    Later that day, after resting my leg a bit more, I caught up with the Spanish ladies and we went to visit the Cathedral, known for its more than 130 church windows! Breathtakingly beautiful! ⛪️

    By the time we came out, it was pouring so we found an undercover spot to enjoy some food and drinks, one last hurrah before we parted ways the next day and another bittersweet farewell. We were all headed to Astorga but they’d walk the stretch in 3 days and I would do it in 2 as Jorge would visit me on the trail there 😊
    Read more