Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 69

    Pennertaxi ...

    February 24, 2020 in Botswana ⋅ 🌧 20 °C

    ... oder: "Fuck, was für ein ereignisreicher Tag!"

    Great plans we all have this morning: At 7 a.m. the white boys want to visit a Toyota workshop because in Chobe they crushed their Hilux's transmission and it is stuck in 4H (permanent 4-wheel drive without centre differential) which means that they should not drive on grippy surfaces - like on tarmac - at all. And I want to get my hand brake readjusted and my air condition fixed. So, the problem just is that the whole night and morning the rain pours like hell and nobody can get out of any roof tent or in-car bed. Stop having great plans, they exist solely for your disappointment.

    But somehow miracles still happen even though I am not Jesus: The rain stops for a while and before noon the boys have their transmission fixed, I have my hand brake re-tensioned and my air con refilled. With the latter I can open the gates to inverse hell again, yay! This all thanks to a network of greatly talented mechanics, especially to Offias and Laurence! In Kasane we trust.

    At noon we cross the Zambezi and head to Victoria Falls in Livingstone. "But how?" is the question! The boys want to avoid struggles with importing their Namibian-rented car into Zambia and want to turn back to Namibia anyway. So ... I just load all four of them onto my rear bed and off we go over the border!!
    Read more