Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 79

    China Harbour

    March 5, 2020 in Zambia ⋅ 🌧 23 °C

    Nchelenge is boring. I stop, hoping for a pretty town at the lake's shore but no calm lake access here and no nice views without digging the whole neighbourhood upside down.

    Via Kawambwa, again only main roads are drivable to my next destination, the Lumangwe falls. Even these main roads offer surprises. Here it hadn't rained for two days but still the mud road was not passable until the moment I arrived. Zambian roads are in Chinese hands as they are maintained by China Harbour according to the workers' vests. They just finished mixing leaves and branches with the mud and continue to dig new drainage channels being supervised by one pale Chinese guy. I sacrifice my whole bucket of cookies during this short break. The kids and workers empty it within 2.5712 seconds.Read more