Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 394

    Bush camp

    January 14, 2021 in Kenya ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    Wild camp when turning off the gravel road into a dry, wide riverbed. I do not recommend camping in riverbeds even though they might seem to be dry for years. Flash-floods coming from heavy rains in distant mountains are not uncommon. Just a few days ago bad things happened in southern Namibia around very idyllic, river-side camping spots. Choose an elevated spot wisely and be conscious of your surroundings. Which way to retreat, just in case? Then you are ready to enjoy the riverbed. I find plenty of dead, dry fire wood. This is mostly dense, hard, heavy acacia stuff. Just a few medium sticks burn as long as a whole Schubkarre full of common northern European wood. I am greeted by warthogs and small bush bucks and surrounded by elephant poop. But no big animals in sight. I am in Samburu territory. The next morning I see my first camels next to the road! The bush- and scrubland gets drier and they exchanged cows for camels :pRead more