Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 396

    Approaching the desert

    January 16, 2021 in Kenya ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    From Baragoi I drive north after lunch and a long chat with a teacher. The landscape turns into blueish-grey, the stony, rocky soil into sand. Before reaching South Horr I turn east and while speeding through the smooth sand track in direction to Illaut I encounter two motor cross riders from around Nairobi who came here on their 250 ccm machines for some desert adventures south of lake Turkana. One has a broken clutch cable and I assist with some tools. The guys tell me about fancy remote tracks which are not on my maps (yet). Ohlala, this is going to be an adventure because I probably will be unable to resist further challenges =)
    My car drives east/south-east while I keep my gaze south-west into Ndoto mountains. The sun is setting over the mountains with epic scenery. Ok, the desert has to wait as I spontaneously turn to Ngurunit.
    Read more