Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 400

    Hooray Hurri Hills

    January 20, 2021 in Kenya ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    My topographic index finger guides me north-east into Hurri Hills. Also because I read about it somewhere but I don't remember where. The drive is a climb from 500 m up to 1300 m over very stony, exhausting tracks. Average speed is something around 25 kph. Further up the soil gets ashier, sandier, smother to drive. The wind is still crazy-going and dry but with much nicer temperatures. I have a lunch break in the shade with self-baked walnut bread on wheat-sour-dough basis.
    The Hurris are awesome! It’s a volcanic plateau with these smooth hills scattered all over the place, nice (dry) grass and an astonishing view all round. When you stand on top of the area you just see a ridge from where the elevation drops down to 400/500 m in all directions. After a small hike the chief officer of security of Hurri Hills awaits me at my car and tries to convince me to stay in the safe town. Safe from what exactly? The only threatening element around here is the wind. I continue through the grassy plains towards the sunset in direction of Balesa. Want to find an overnight spot with view down into the valley.
    Read more