Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Happy 14th Anniversary from Quepos!

    January 11, 2023 in Costa Rica ⋅ 🌧 81 °F

    We’re into our 3rd day here in Quepos, Costa Rica at our wonderful homestay with Francisca and Joaquin and taking classes at the Manuel Antonio Spanish school. It also happens to be our 14th wedding anniversary today 🥰 so guess what - we’re going to some salsa/Latin dance class tonight with teacher from our Spanish school! 😎

    It’s been a wonderful albeit challenging week. The homestay is an amazing experience and Francisca’s generosity, kindness, and cooking are phenomenal! It’s just either crazy hot both inside and outside, interspersed with crazy downpours of rain! We’re never sure whether to have bathing suits/sunglasses/sunscreen or raincoats. Pura Vida!

    The kids have gotten to experience so many new things here between learning Spanish for 2 hours every day (at a beautiful outdoor classroom); experiencing traditional Costa Rican food; traveling on the local bus daily to school; seeing monkeys walk along telephone wires literally just over our heads; and learning about the culture and money. But I think so far the most “memorable” moment has been related to Bardo, the caring but “loco” cat (as Francisca calls him).

    Around 2 AM yesterday, Katie came into our room next door saying she was having trouble sleeping without much elaboration. I assumed in my tired state that it was the heat and just being in a new place.

    Oh but I was so wrong. 😳

    First let me say, it turns out Bardo the crazy but caring cat, is named (we believe by her kids) after Bart Simpson - the cartoon character - very appropriate given the cat’s personality. Apparently around 1:30 AM on said evening, Maddie used the restroom and while she went into the bathroom at the end of the hall, Bardo snuck into their room and jumped on Katie’s bottom bunk.

    Bardo then proceeded to meow loudly and rub himself along Katie’s entire body for about 10 minutes, with Maddie trying to shoo him away. Katie of course woke up. Bardo continued to meow and jump between Katie’s bed and under the bed with the kids half liking this game and half trying to get the crazy cat out. After 15 minutes, Bardo suddenly sprinted out of the room.

    Katie then comes in to our room then around 2 AM as I mentioned - but guess who else decided to join us in bed. Yep - you guessed it - BARDO, who meowed and RAN around the bed and flopped down next to me.

    Did I mention I was tired? In my tired state, I had just enough time to think “oh that’s probably ok if…”and then Bardo suddenly launched himself at my leg, which was under the sheets (very tempting I’m sure) and lovingly attacked and bit it. Not hard but very speedy and like I said, his personality matches Bart Simpson well. I yelled “OUCH!” and before I knew it Bardo disappeared.

    In the morning, Bardo was waiting for us right outside our door. Happy, meowing, and rubbing up along our legs like nothing had happened. Ay caramba!

    So girls are in class right now. I’m up next - learning medical terminology in Spanish. It’ll be fun - the teacher and I are going to pretend like he’s sick and I have to ask questions and do an assessment.

    After class we’re headed to a new local beach (water is SO warm here) and we’ll let you know how dance class goes! Fun way to spend our 14th anniversary! Brian and I are looking forward to it!! (Not sure about anyone else but they’ll be troopers!)

    I’m off to Spanish class now!

    Pura Vida! Hope you are all doing well midweek! ❤️
    Read more