Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Next stop Hong Kong... For 10 hours...

    October 30, 2018 in Hong Kong ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    The flight from New York was the reverse of what we did before. New York to Beijing, 1 hour 15 min transfer in Beijing, Beijing to Hong Kong. As the flight has left an hour late I'm not sure this is going to go well...

    Will found a row of seats empty so was able to sleep quite well. I tried to take sleeping tablets but after 2 hours the lady next to me dropped something on my lap and I had woke up with a fright! Luckily she was really sweet and although I'd missed the serving of food she had got me a Haagen Daas vanilla ice cream! I wasn't annoyed for long 😊

    The flight didn't feel as restless as previously. I slept for a bit, watched Hunters Prayer, slept, ate and watched Ice Age 4. We were running seriously late now and as there was nothing I could do I was feeling surprisingly relaxed. I informed the airhostess of our transfer and they looked at us terrified and said we won't make it. Now, I've not told you our full travel plans... Once we reach Hong Kong that isn't the end. We are flying to Cebu, Philippines, the next morning at 9am so we are planning to sleep in Hong Kong airport as it is only 10 hours. I've come prepared with air china blankets and a pillow, so hopefully I just need to find a quiet corner. Anyway, so as you can see we have quite a tight schedule and if we miss our connection in Beijing and there are no more flights that evening we will miss our flight to the Philippines!! It's now 5:15pm and our next flight departs at 5:45pm... Hmm

    We ran as fast as we possibly could through the airport when we arrived. Luckily we did this 8 days ago so we knew what to expect, unlucky for us no one seemed to know our gate number so we had to look for it, but then luckily after sprinting through the airport our flight was actually delayed so we had plenty of time. We arrived at 5:45pm on the dot! Phew!! Gosh I hate flying! But we've made it and to be honest as I'm writing this blog we are still sat on the plane having not left yet and it's 7pm! It was supposed to leave at 5:45pm.

    We finally set off at 7:30pm from Beijing and arrived at 10:30pm. As we have a flight first thing in the morning we have decided to sleep in the airport. Now I'm not sure this is a good idea but I'll let you know in the morning...
    Read more