Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Backwaters - Boats, Boats, Boats

    November 21, 2018 in India ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    Wow and we thought the storms were bad in the Philippines! The storms last night were absolutely crazy. I've never heard rain or thunder like it. We didn't have a proper window in the room but it was very intense. The night before we had booked a boat tour along the backwaters and with this storm we really weren't sure if it was a good idea. We asked our homestay for their advise and they rang ahead to see what the weather was. They assured us that it would be fine for the morning at the least, so we just went for it.

    The road outside the homestay was just a river and we had to walk to the end for the pickup so we just had to wade through! Luckily it wasn't as bad as it looked and the bus soon came to pick us up. We met Jerry (from Vancouver) and Charlotte (from Essex) on the bus and they were super nice and the hour sat in crazy traffic soon passed and we were soon on our first boat.

    The ride was basically silent the whole way. The boat driver pushed the boat the whole way using a stick and therefore there was no annoying engine noise just the subtle splash of his stick coming out of the water. I must admit I do wish I brought my book as it was perfect for it. Instead I spent the first part updating my blog.

    Along the way we saw beautiful eagles, a green king Fisher, lots of red dragon flies, cormorants and A LOT of coconut trees.

    For lunch we stopped in a local village and were treated to a really yummy kerela spread. I must admit I'm currently in food heaven being in India and everything being vegetarian!

    The journey back after lunch was unbelievably peaceful and still. I think the whole boat was asleep at one point. I'm so so glad we didn't end up cancelling. The boat ride wasn't eventful but it was so peaceful, relaxing and calming.

    In the evening Will, Charlotte and I went to a hip teapot cafe and then we joined up with Jerry for dinner and had a paratha thali. It was super yummy. We've been here a couple of days and I just can't get enough of the food. I'm definitely going to gain weight here!
    Read more