Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Kochi - Dehli South to North in a day?!!

    November 23, 2018 in India ⋅ 🌧 31 °C

    Waking up in the beautiful tea plantations was a great way to start our morning. We started the day with Poori for breakfast and then wandered around the small town where we visited a very busy local temple. Reds, golds, blues, purples, green coloured saris flow around us like a multi coloured sea. It's just so beautiful. Everyone has huge pearly white smiles beaming at us as we walked around their town. What a perfect morning. Jerry must have amazing Karma as he paid for the whole trip and wouldn't take a single penny from us. He even us gave us his Indian Sim and in return we gave him our from the Philippines where he was heading to.

    We all then jumped in the car for our long journey back. To be honest we didn't really stop until we got to the airport around lunch time and then we went for lunch before having to kill 5 hours before our flight. We sat and chatted to Jerry which helped pass the endless hours and we were soon on our flight to Dehli. To our surprise our plane wasn't a budget tiny flight! It was a boeing 787! It had huge seats, in flight entertainment and even food! Luxury, well we did spend quite a bit on it having booked less than 24 hours in advance! On the flight I watched Fault in our stars and it's such an incredible inspiring, but sad film. I must admit I was crying on the plane! As I've decided to be vegetarian in India I was a bit nervous about the veggie option as normally its just terrible but I quickly remembered I'm in India and actually they only served vegetarian food! It was super yummy!! I had mori dhal, bhajia, rice and white Gula Jamun. Yum yum and more yum.

    Although we haven't been long in India and we definitely haven't done the south justice our few days here has been fun, spontaneous and picturesque. I can't wait to come back and explore more.

    When we arrived in Dehli I was super nervous. Dehli is scam central. I've heard horror stories of people being raped, people being taken to random hotels and being told theirs doesn't exist by locals, I even saw a woman in in the toilet at arrivals in tears because she had been robbed. My scam alert and guard was on. Before we left the airport we checked everything was securely away, that we knew how and where to go for our uber and we had the address clearly marked for our driver.

    Well we tried... Firstly the address didn't save and Google offline was not working for some reason, then when we arrived at the hostel our uber fair was r200 more than it should have been. To be honest I just didn't care and I was glad to be safe in our hostel. The owner of the hostel Vindu was incredibly kind and friendly. It was 1am when we arrived and he đạt and chatted to us, made us Chai Masala, discussed what he thinks we should do in the morning and then gave us a dorm room to ourselves.

    I must admit I'm just in love with India so far and we are only 4 days in.
    Read more