Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Good Morning Mumbai!

    December 18, 2018 in India ⋅ 🌫 28 °C

    After leaving at 5am on the 17th we finally arrived at 10am in Mumbai. And to my astonishment we got picked up by a family friend Cyrus from the station! It was just what we needed. He then took us directly to our friends house. The drive took 2 hours, the traffic was absolutely horrific but wow... When we arrived... One of Will's friends from university has let us stay in this house. Its HUGE but completely abandoned apart from the housekeeper. We were told that this area is actually full of bollywood stars so I'll keep my eye out! We are meeting her tomorrow so I'm hoping we get to know more about the place as its beautiful!!

    When we arrived we crashed, but instead of resting we had showers, did washing and got out by the afternoon. I treated myself to a legwax. It was heaven!! Now this is a bit personal but meh.. So, it's interesting... Since travelling I've not cared that I'm actually quite hairy. Normally when in the UK I'm embarrassed about it and have to wax my legs, but since travelling I don't know why but it doesn't feel like an issue. And no, it's not what you think, it's not because I've become a lazy hippie, other people on the travels aren't hairy like me but people haven't cared. And most importantly I've not cared. Back home you put so much pressure on yourself and put ideas in your head about what other people think or might say. Would people really care? I'm not sure...

    After getting rid of my bear coat we went to Juhu beach and just sat enjoying sunset. The location of this house is soo lovely, I can't believe we are on the coast and out of the hustle and bustle of the city.

    In the evening as we hadn't eaten at all all day we decided to splash out and go to a famous Parsi restaurant called Sodabottleopenerwala, seriously that is its name! Haha As most of you know I'm a Parsi Zoroastrian and our food is actually very different from normal Indian food and so I was super excited to have some homecooked food. We really did splash out, not only did we have our first alcoholic drink of India, but also our first meat dish in India! It was sooo good!! We had Sali Boti ni Pav (Mutton in a sweet and sour gravy sauce with potato sticks on top served with bread) and Vegetable Parsi Curry with Rice. The restaurant was a super hipster place with really funny Parsi related jokes on the wall. I loved every minute of it. It was a great start to our time in Mumbai.
    Read more