Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Our Final Day

    February 15, 2019 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 12 °C

    We slept!!! We actually slept!! I don't remember putting my head down to sleep but I didn't wake up till 5am and then 10:30am. Heaven!! But I actually feel more tired from sleeping ha. I think I need a week to catch up on sleep.

    We had a rather slow morning which was nice and then just went for a wander. We came across a very cute Trattoria. So we went for a valentines 2 course lunch with wine. We are going to have zero money when we get back so we are making the most of it now! The lunch was really yummy. We noticed that the service for the Italian customers was impeccable. As soon as they were seated they were given a basket of bread and water for the table. We were barely given a menu... I must admit this is now our second day here and I'm not finding Italy very welcoming... I've not had a single person smile back at me. Anyway I didn't let the terrible service ruin our meal. When all the various items arrived we had a really lovely meal.

    Our first sight seeing spot for the day was the vertical forest of Isola. We then jumped on the metro and visited the Duomo. In case you ever go and get a ticket for the Duomo from the ticket office ignore the ladies that give you a ticket number and tell you to wait. I honestly don't know why they do that when there are ticket machines further in. We had already waited half a hour for our number of 365. It was only on 277 when we discovered the machines. Within 2 minutes we had purchased the ticket and were out. It was about 5pm by this point and inside the Duomo it was freezing. My whole body ached. Although it was beautiful I just couldn't help but want to leave.

    After the Duomo we went to the Gallery and spun on the famous bulls balls for good luck before heading to GROM for a hot chocolate.

    For dinner we went to Pizzeria Piccola Ischia. I would 100% recommend it here. They serve delicious Napalese pizza for only €7.50 and wine for €5.50 for 1/2l. We even treated ourselves to a tiramasu which was served in an espresso cafetiere. It was to die for!

    By 10pm I was once again fast asleep, but unfortunately didn't sleep through the night. I was up at 3:30am with huge stomach cramps. I don't think our stomachs are used to this much dairy 😢
    Read more