Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Gijõn to Aviles, Spain

    September 17, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 59 °F

    After enjoying the beautiful city of Gijon, what we could, after a 30k day, it was hard to leave this morning. Our hotel did a great buffet breakfast for €6 at 8:15 so we hung around for that deliciousness. Grabbed a banana and muffin for my walk and put it in my pack, kinda felt like ‘aunt Ethel’ at a wedding stuffing her pockets with something for later! Wish I would’ve had more time there. One side has stunning beaches and the other fishing boats and docks. Clean, historical, all the things, old and new. Our way out of town was on the fishing side, so it was actually a really pleasant walk out. Typically it’s awful walking in and out of a large city. We were happy and enjoying touring it a little more before passing on to the next. Great walk until we got to the industrial area. Plumes of whatever blowing, and the noise of freeways. More up, up, up. Just a lot of yuck. We soon climbed a pretty good little mountain and then entered those beautiful dirt tracks through corn fields and forests. It was absolutely lovely. I had some quiet time to reflect, pray, and ask for guidance not only on this trail, but in what is waiting for me at home. I’m getting there. Rather than being so preoccupied by watching for every arrow and shell directing me, I could finally relax and get in the zone. Not many services on the way, but we had enough to keep us alive, so we needed nothing but strong legs and feet. Arrived in Aviles in good time, did laundry, and checked out this little historical city in between the wash and dry cycles. It’s so charming, I was actually ready to not really like it, I had the impression it would be more industrial ugliness. However, at every turn there were historical sites, theaters, churches, nice plazas, flowers and storybook looking buildings. No beaches here, but the ambiance is amazing. I stumbled upon an open church, which hasn’t been easy, so many are closed when I arrive and I was completely drawn to it. I walked in, knelt, and had a good talk with God. It was moving. The music was playing, and it just relaxed my body and mind. I needed that re-centering. I needed to hand a few things over, and trust. I left feeling good. Right. Centered. Loved. God is so good.
    Back in the room now, awaiting the 8pm dinner hour (I’m going to chew my arm off, I swear!!) and another opportunity to stroll around this cool little city. Still loving the Camino, I feel blessed. But it’s hard to live like this for a month!! I struggle with the desire to go home and the curiosity of what’s around the next corner. Taking one step at a time, and enjoying this incredible experience, as grueling as it can be at times. Grateful and amazed by all the beautiful things our loving God has created for us to enjoy. Thanks be to God. ❤️👣🎒🙏🏻
    Read more