Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Cadavedo to Luarca, Spain

    September 21, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌬 66 °F

    Mixed bag of Tammy today! Last night we left the windows open for some fresh airflow and when I woke after a really vivid dream, I noticed the rain had come through onto the floor. Fricken rain. Even when I am asleep it gets to me hahaha!! I am not walking through it though, so whatever. I think God is working on me in my dreams too, that sneakster. I never remember my dreams, but some really key things came up in this one which I texted my mom about when I jolted awake. I was like WHY are these things coming up, why am I haunted by them now, why am I being thrust into emotional stuff that didn’t bother me months or years ago? Or did they? Have I just been shoving them down? Probably. I’m too busy to deal with some of it, and honestly bottom line, in my mind is why bother, there’s no changing any of it. I believe God is using this opportunity to heal me or help me help others, and /or at least bring me to awareness, so I can begin to feel it, pray about it, understand it, and work through it. Ok. Let’s do this. I have opened myself up by putting myself in this vulnerable situation and I’m grateful He is showing me the raw stuff. I mean, in all fairness, I did ask Him to. Ask and you shall receive. My mom texted me right back (3am here/5pm there). She was gracious, understanding, and encouraged me to keep running with it to work it out. She gets it. Thank Goodness. Some moms are in such denial and I am so grateful I have a mom that no matter what I tell her, she knows, and actually knows exactly where it is coming from. I’m glad she handled it the way she did without being offended or shattered.
    I have often said, and heard from others, that the Camino works in 3 stages. First week or so is physical pain, 2nd & 3rd week is emotional stuff, and the 4th week onwards is spiritual awareness and a sense of resolve and peace. I’ve done 2 week Camino’s in the past and it always sort of frustrated me to go through those 2 stages and not get to the good stuff. I’ve done Camino’s that lasted a month and I did get to the spiritual part. I knew a year ago I needed another long walk. I knew, and was I ever right. I won’t get into the dream or the topic that popped up this time, it’s a whole other thing, but it’s all related. Again, I bounced this all off of Holly, who is open minded and objective, and I was once again reminded I am definitely traveling this very personal journey with the right person. I really just wanted to know if I was thrashing around in my sleep and if she was awoke by it!! She wasn’t, which totally surprised me, because I was kicking some serious butt in my dream 😂.
    Getting on with the walk today, very good, upbeat conversation about family, and friends, only 10 miles, one good climb, with a few minor ups and downs, and the rest really pretty easy in comparison. We tend to gauge our days against the first week which was so challenging. We psych ourselves into the mindset if we could get through THAT, we can definitely get through today. One day at a time. Backing up, we sat with amazing Ingrid at breakfast today. So open and willing to share all her wisdom of the path. She gave us information on a beach that you need a ticket to go visit, since they only allow 15 at a time. It’s free, but it is a half hour ride off the trail. Catedral Beach. We got our tickets for tomorrow! When we reach Ribadeo we will be taking some time to go see this amazing beach at low tide. We are really excited for this excursion and to put our feet on this very beautiful piece of paradise!
    Today we arrived in this awesome little town called Luarca that sits on the sea and has a fishing port. It is evident this is a tourist destination, but we’re lucky enough to catch it right after schools have started and vacationers are done for the season. Charming and quaint, just the way I like it. We strolled around, talked to the basketball coach (coaches college kids here in Spain from the states such as UCLA, Illinois and he rambled off a few more but I can’t remember.) He is from this region of Austrias, but lives in Madrid. We’ve bumped into him on the trail a few times with his 2 other friends. He gave us recommendations for a place to eat here and they went their way. We decided on one of the recommendations and Holly and I had a great dinner.
    Tonight I was able to talk to my son and husband and that sure made me feel blessed. We visited a church, knelt and prayed, and it pulled me right back to center. Amazing how that works.
    Late here, probably the latest I have stayed up yet, so time to call it a day. Much love and peace to you and yours. Good night.
    Read more