Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Grand Circuit: Pre Rup

    September 30, 2022 in Cambodia ⋅ ☁️ 29 °C

    The final stop on the Grand Circuit, Pre Rup is a favorite for viewing sunsets. I was tempted to ask Phoan to bring me here for sunset, but I knew it would likely be futile due to the cloud cover. Pre Rup has two levels. The top level offers 360 degree views of the surrounding forest. Although the steps were steep, this climb was significantly less intimidating than the others. I enjoyed this last stop immensely.

    We concluded our tour around lunchtime. I was surprised how quickly we wound this leg up, but I was also happy as I didn't think my brain could handle any more temples.

    Phoan's motorbike struggled as he drove me back to my accommodation. When he dropped me off, I thrust a fistful of riel into his hands and told him it was my contribution towards his motorbike repairs. Phoan is a hardworking guy with good interpersonal skills, and I would hate it if he lost his livelihood.

    That afternoon, I wandered again into Siem Reap for lunch and to wander around, and I got back to my accommodation before the inevitable afternoon downpour.

    https://www.travelblog.org/Asia/Cambodia/North/…
    Read more