Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Arrival in Singapore & VTL Isolation

    November 19, 2021 in Singapore ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    I studied and read all the VTL requirements and I made sure I met all the conditions to avoid quarantine. To even get onto the VTL flight, I had to present a negative PCR test result. I had to point out to the harried check in staff at LAX where it said “PCR” on my test results.

    On arrival into a very quiet SIN, I had a minor scare at immigration when the officer wouldn’t even look at my paper vaccination certificates, and he wouldn’t accept my explanation for why he could not scan my vaccination QR. Fortunately, the supervisor on duty knew that the US QR code could not be scanned like normal QR codes, and she let me through. I was whisked to a swabbing station, and then into a waiting taxi which took me directly to the Quay Hotel on North Bridge Road where I was to stay in isolation while I awaited the result of my Covid test.

    I chose the Quay Hotel because it was cheap. When I got to the hotel, I realized that I booked a small, dark, windowless room, and I fretted about having to be confined in there if I tested positive. After a quick mee pok lunch (which I had to eat with my hands because there were no utensils in the package) delivered by Grab, I went to sleep. I was awoken by a call from a contact tracer around 5pm, at which time I checked my email and saw my negative Covid test result. As I was free to go, I groggily wandered out for a porridge dinner, and then I returned to stay the night. I had a roti prata breakfast the next morning, and then I checked out and headed to Hume Park.
    Read more