Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Doi Suthep

    November 28, 2021 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    I awoke early and decided to start my explorations with a trip out to Doi Suthep, a sacred mountain to the west of the city. It didn't take me long to find a red sawngthaew to get me out to Doi Suthep. I paid the going rate for a charter out there. In normal times, I would likely have been able to find other travelers to split the cost with me, but not this time. In any case, many of the hardworking locals were probably having a tough time getting through the pandemic, and I wasn't going to nickel and dime my way with them.

    The drive to Doi Suthep took about 30 minutes. Before long, we reached the mountain proper and started our ascent. En route, I observed locals giving alms to monks. As it was Sunday, there were many cyclists riding up the mountain, along with a handful of runners. I observed with amusement that some of the friendly stray dogs trotted alongside the cyclists and runners as they made their way uphill.

    The sawngthaew driver deposited me at the base of the famous naga steps. I made my way up the 300+ steps to the Doi Suthep temple, which was spectacular. The views over Chiang Mai were a little hazy, but I could make out the outline of the moat and the airport. After wandering around the temple grounds, I made my way back down the naga steps and back to Chiang Mai. I asked the driver to send me to a boat noodle stand of his choosing. There, I had a delicious breakfast which put me in good stead to continue my day of exploring.

    https://www.travelblog.org/Asia/Thailand/North-…
    Read more