Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Fort Rotterdam

    July 11, 2019 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    Fort Rotterdam was modest in comparison to the grandiose Spanish-built structures I visited in the Caribbean. There was a museum - La Galigo - on Fort Rotterdam’s grounds, but, sadly, it didn’t have much information on what I was most interested in: the fort, its history, battles fought, and everyday life for those charged with defending it. There were, however, informative exhibits on the coastal and seagoing cultures of the area. Overall, I was a little underwhelmed.

    My next goal was to try and sample one of the dishes Makassar is famous for - ikan bakar or grilled fish. I made a beeline for Lae Lae - Lonely Planet’s recommended food choice. There, I savored a small snapper and vegetables. After lunch, I walked along the Losari Beach seafront before heading back to my hotel to savor a few hours at the pool. After that, I headed to the airport for my flight to Denpasar.

    https://www.travelblog.org/Asia/Indonesia/Sulaw…
    Read more