Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    The Midlife Crisis Flashpacking Trip

    July 19, 2017 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 25 °C

    Calling this a Midlife Crisis might be a tad dramatic, but hey, "The Midlife Crisis Flashpacking Trip" rolls off the tongue nicely, doesn't it? I'm not really going through a midlife crisis, or at least not a stereotypical full-blown one. I have no immediate plans to trade in my trusty Prius for a newer, faster model. I'm not planning to trade in my spouse Jeff for a younger, faster model either. What is changing is that I am at a career crossroads, and I need some time to regroup and think.

    I've been carrying the venn diagram pictured here in my wallet for the past few months. Much of my recent career has been in the area shaded yellow (profession). I'm good at what I do, and I make a decent living out of it. But, it has been a while since I have loved doing what I do. Besides that, developments over the past three years have made it clear to me that the path I was on at my workplace was unsustainable.

    My goal is to try and transition to the area shaded blue. I've been thinking long and hard about what I love to do, but, unfortunately, I don't think I can make a good living out of some of the things I know I love do to, or I have to start at the bottom of a new career ladder (which I am currently unwilling to do). I therefore need some time away from a work environment to think things through.

    I left my job at the end of June. It was the right thing to do. It's scary not knowing what's next, but it is important to me that I take this time off.

    https://www.travelblog.org/North-America/United…
    Read more