Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Rail Corridor: Southbound

    July 29, 2017 in Singapore ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    Early in the morning, I went back to where I started the previous day's hike and headed south. As this part of the hike was on the flank of the nature reserve, it was green and very pleasant. I hit my first distance marker - 10km - soon after. I loved this stretch - it was all greenery with some houses interspersed.

    Along the way, I walked on two bridges. The first bridge spanned Hindhede Road, which is the entrance to Bukit Timah Hill. The second spanned the busy throughfares of Bukit Timah Road and Dunearn Road. Once past the second bridge, it got even quieter and greener as the trail veered away from the roads. The main highlight of this stretch was an abandoned railway station.

    Alas, this was not meant to last. Soon after the old station, I saw a wall, and the sign on it indicated that a water pipeline was being built. The trail initially continued alongside the wall, but at Old Holland Road, I could not find any further trace of a trail. A passerby told me that the trail ended here for now while the pipeline work was ongoing. She suggested taking a bus to Alexandria Road and rejoining the track from there, but I decided to call it a day as that last bit of trail wound through urban areas and I wasn't keen to take a bus just to walk a city path. So, I turned around, found a parallel path on an abandoned road, and headed back to Bukit Timah Road where I took a bus back to my parents' condo.

    Total distance walked this morning was 4.74 miles. The end of the trail was at the 3.3 mile mark and the remaining 1.4 miles was spent backtracking to Bukit Timah Road.

    https://www.travelblog.org/Asia/Singapore/blog-…
    Read more