Satelliet
Weergeven op kaart
  • Dag 19

    Coconut Island Beach Resort

    6 augustus 2017, Indonesië

    Coconut Garden Beach Resort is exactly what I needed after the stress and hassle of Moni. It bills itself as an eco-resort. I'm often cynical about places which describe themselves as such. The bamboo structures were beautiful and clearly made from sustainable materials, but I question the wisdom of planting impatiens and bougainvillea on a beach, and not having proper drainage in the outdoor showers (everything just soaks into the sand; soap and shampoo and all).

    The resort is isolated so it has a captive market for meals. The meals were organic and prepared from scratch. Other travelers complained about lack of meat dishes, but I was fine with that as I rarely eat meat. The meals were expensive by Indonesian standards. There isn't much to do other than laze on the beach. It was exactly what I needed. The beach is pretty, the sea is shallow and warm, and the sunsets are spectacular. The other travelers are relaxed, friendly and chatty, but they belong to a more upmarket demographic than most other travelers I have met on the road. They can't seem to relate to what the two Spaniards and I went through before we got to Coconut Garden.

    I booked for only one night as this stay was a result of changed plans. It cost way over my budget (the cheaper rooms away from the beach weren’t available). I liked it so much that when I checked out at noon I asked the staff if I could stay on the premises until after dinner. They said yes. So, I had another lazy day sitting under the shade, snoozing away all day, and occasionally venturing out into the sea. Bliss.

    https://www.travelblog.org/Asia/Indonesia/Flore…
    Meer informatie