Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    Torrens Linear Park & South to Glenelg

    August 24, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    I did this hike while Trixie was at work. I followed her on her morning commute, she showed me the where the trail began, and off I went.

    This was a long hike from the center of Adelaide to Henley Beach on a trail alongside the Torrens River. It starts out in downtown Adelaide and goes on for about 9.7 miles before it reaches the coastline. To be honest, the hike got boring after a few miles, but I persevered because I knew the coastline would be very pretty. Along the way, I watched people, enjoyed the landscape, listened to birds, got dived bombed by a magpie (probably because I was close to its nest), and admired the flowers, birds, dogs and horses I encountered.

    The trail went generally in a westward direction. When I hit the coastline at Henley Beach, I turned south towards Glenelg. While the coastline was pretty, I was a bit demoralized by this point as I was hungry and there weren't any food places in sight; just block upon block of beachfront residences. The first food place I encountered was 1.1 miles down. Stopping at the restaurant for lunch, I scarfed down a focaccia and smoothie as soon as it was presented to me. After eating, I walked a further 3.5 miles to Glenelg where I took a tram back to Adelaide. At the Adelaide CBD, I took a bus back to Trixie's house.

    https://www.travelblog.org/Oceania/Australia/So…
    Read more