Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 59

    Teak Footbridge & Natural Spring

    September 15, 2017 in Myanmar ⋅ ☁️ 22 °C

    I planned to hire a bicycle and cycle around on my second and last full day at Inle. However, I woke up to dark clouds, and the skies opened up around 7am. I moped around, watched Netflix, and waited for the rain to clear.

    Around noon, I made my way downstairs and came across a trio of French speakers - one each from France (AC), Switzerland (Julie), and Canada (Jeff). I had met each of them earlier in Bagan. They invited me to join them for lunch at a Thai restaurant. After lunch, they invited me to join them to visit a teak bridge and a natural pool. After a quick post-lunch siesta, we found a taxi (it was actually a carriage drawn by a motorcycle) and made our way to the northeastern shore of the lake. Along the way, the skies opened up again, but luckily our destinations that afternoon weren't rained out when we got to them.

    The first stop was a 500 meter long teak bridge. We happened to be there when school was out. It looked as if these kids went to school in the towns along the lake, and those who lived on the lake came to this bridge to get home by boat. Anyway, we were swarmed by kids in their school uniforms walking past us, and we enjoyed watching them get into boats to go home.

    The second stop was a natural pool. To get there, we hiked about 20 minutes on a dirt track. The pool was amazing! Fed by springs, the water was crystal clear and cool. Unfortunately, there were hundreds of mosquitoes. We all kept ourselves submerged as much as we could. I ended up wrapping my t-shirt around my face to keep from getting stung. Barriers broke down when our driver joined us in the pool and played with us. This was a great find.

    https://www.travelblog.org/Asia/Burma/Mandalay-…
    Read more