Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Rooftop Bar with Ahmar

    July 23, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    While dining at Buddha Bodai, my friend Ahmar contacted me, and we arranged to meet for drinks at a rooftop bar. I met Ahmar in Bagan in 2017. We had gone to the same MBA program at UCLA, but 17 years apart. In Bagan, Ahmar helped me figure out how to ride an electric scooter, and we had fun riding our scooters to explore the myriad temples on the plain.

    After dining, Jeff and I made our way to the rooftop bar at 27th St on foot. We walked through Chinatown, the Lower East Side, and Union Square. It just felt so good to be in a big city again. I’ve missed the vibe. Don’t get me wrong. I enjoy my life in Honolulu, but my inner being aligns better with big city life.

    At the rooftop bar, I had a pleasant time reconnecting with Ahmar. Throughout my time at the bar, the Empire State Building was in my direct line of sight. We watched it reflect the evening sun. After the sun set, we enjoyed a light show. The jet lag hit around 9.30pm, at which point we bade goodbye to Ahmar and headed back to our hotel.

    https://www.travelblog.org/North-America/United…
    Read more