Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Silom

    December 3, 2021 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    When it came time for dinner, I was still full from the rich lunch. I briefly considered having a fruit salad for dinner, but then I thought of the next best thing - som tam, or papaya salad! I hopped onto the subway and made my way to the Silom area to Hai Somtam, a famous papaya salad stand at Soi Convent. I had eaten at this restaurant in the past as it was near my former employer's downtown office. The papaya salad did the trick - it balanced out the super rich lunch and, more importantly, mitigated my guilt at having consumed that crab omelet.

    After eating, I wandered around the Patpong red light district and Silom. It certainly was not business as usual. While the night market food stalls appeared to be thriving with many diners, only a small handful of retailers were open. On a normal evening, one would not be able to move with ease through the sidewalks as they would be chock full of vendors and shoppers. On this Friday evening, only a fraction of the shops were open. I had a painful but ultimately relaxing traditional Thai massage at one of the shops in on Soi 4, wandered around the area some more, and then I went back to my hotel.

    https://www.travelblog.org/Asia/Thailand/Centra…
    Read more