Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Guangzhou to Shanghai Pudong

    April 13 in China ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    China Southern Airlines CZ8211 | CAN/PVG
    Economy Class
    Boeing 787-9 | B-20C6
    ATD/2012 | ATA/2235
    Lounge: Sky Pearl VIP Lounge

    I took almost an hour to go through arrival formalities at Guangzhou. The immigration officer who processed me was very brusque. Once I was through to the sterile domestic departures area, I found absolutely no signage for the China Southern lounge. It wasn’t marked on the terminal map either, but I found it using the terminal map search function. As it turned out, the lounge was appropriately signposted for local joining passengers after they go through security, but not for passengers coming connecting from the international terminal.

    Upon arrival to the lounge, I was channeled to the section reserved for economy class passengers with status. The lounge was aesthetically pleasing, but the food was passable at best. I am grateful for this lounge access, though, because what was supposed to be a five hour layover became a seven hour layover, ostensibly due to weather en route.

    We boarded the flight from a remote bay. At the remote bay, I saw that CZ8211 was to be operated by a B787 instead of the originally scheduled B777-300ER. Once we were on board, the captain announced a further one hour delay, but we did take off half an hour later.

    Sadly, the delay to this flight meant that I would arrive in Pudong after the last Maglev train departed. I really wanted to try the Maglev, so this was a disappointment. Jeff waited for me to arrive and then we took a ride share to our accommodation. The drive into town took almost an hour.
    Read more